Four Hawkeyes Named All-Big Ten

Sophomore Katie Brown selected to first team

Sophomore Katie Brown and junior Brittany Weil were two of the four Hawkeyes that were named all-Big Ten.

May 8, 2008

  • 2008 Big Ten Tournament Central

    2008 Big Ten Softball Tournament Bracket in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

    IOWA CITY - The Big Ten Conference has announced the 2008 all-Big Ten softball teams, which include sophomore Katie Brown and juniors Colleen McGlaughlin, Brittany Weil and Quinn Morelock.

    Brown was named first team all-Big Ten as a designated player. Brown led the Hawkeyes with a .351 batting average, 20 hits and 16 RBI in conference play. The Spirit Lake, IA, native collected all three of her home runs in Big Ten play against Illinois and finished the two-game series with an .833 (5-6) batting average with six RBI and a 2.500 slugging percentage. This is the first postseason honor for Brown.

    McGlaughlin and Weil were both selected to the second team. McGlaughlin earned second team honors as a utility player, starting nine games at third base, eight at first base and thee in left field during Big Ten play. The Morton, IL, native was second on the team with a .300 batting average and led the team with four home runs and five doubles in conference action. McGlaughlin was named third team all-Big Ten as a sophomore in 2007.

    Weil led Iowa in every pitching category during Big Ten play, including earned run average (1.07), wins (12), complete games (11), shutouts (3), innings pitched (105) and strikeouts (110). The native of Garden Grove, CA, ranks in the top three in nearly every Big Ten pitching statistic. Weil was named third team all-Big Ten as both a freshman and sophomore.

    Morelock started nine of the 20 conference games in the outfield, including the last four. She batted .276 with three RBI in Big Ten play. The Solon, IA, native finished the conference season on a high note, going 3-4 with one RBI and two runs scored. This is Morelock's first postseason honor.

    Senior Summer Downs was named Iowa's Sportsmanship nominee. The native of San Diego, CA, started and played in all of Iowa's Big Ten games this season. Downs batted .263 with one home run, four RBI and two doubles in conference play.

    Iowa returns to action Friday at the Big Ten Tournament. The Hawkeyes will take on Illinois at 9 a.m. at Sharon J. Drysdale Field in Evanston, IL.

    2008 All-Big Ten Teams

    *Dorian Shaw, Fr., MICH, 1B
    *Samantha Findlay, Sr., MICH, 2B
    Shanna Diller, Sr., ILL, 3B
    Tammy Williams, Jr., NU, SS
    Samantha Marder, So., OSU, C
    Nikki Nemitz, So., MICH, UT
    *Angela Findlay, So., MICH, OF
    Alessandra Giampaolo, Sr., MICH, OF
    *Nikki Nicosia, Sr., MSU, OF
    Katie Brown, So., IOWA, DP
    Jordan Taylor, Fr., MICH, P
    Lauren Delaney, So., NU, P

    Michelle Batts, Fr., NU, 1B
    Nicole Pauly, So., NU, 2B
    Robin Thompson, Fr., NU, 3B
    Teddi Ewing, Jr., MICH, SS
    Erin Dyer, Jr., NU, C
    Colleen McGlaughlin, Jr., IOWA, UT
    Sarah Bryers, Sr., ILL, OF
    Hope Howell, So., ILL, OF
    Kelly Quinn, Fr., NU, OF
    Emily Haug, So., NU, DP
    Brittany Weil, Jr., IOWA, P
    Briana Hassett, Jr., MINN, P

    Malisa Barnes, Fr., MINN, 1B
    Kelly Miller, Jr., PUR, 2B
    Colleen Conway, Jr., MINN, 3B
    Bianca Mejia, Fr., MSU, SS
    Jenna Alexander, So., PUR, C
    Ashley Esparza, Sr., PSU, UT
    Quinn Morelock, Jr., IOWA, OF
    Sila Fernandez, Sr., MINN, OF
    Dee Dee Hillman, Fr., OSU, OF
    Jessica LeFevre, Sr., MSU, DP
    Suzie Rzegocki, Fr., PUR, P

    PLAYER OF THE YEAR Tammy Williams, NU
    PITCHER OF THE YEAR Lauren Delaney, NU
    COACH OF THE YEAR Carol Hutchins, MICH

    Katie Gaitros, ILL
    Jessica Rigas, NU
    Anna Olson, IND
    Brittany Vanderink, OSU
    Summer Downs, IOWA
    Rebecca Bautista, PSU
    Teddi Ewing, MICH
    Tara Palmer, PUR
    Nikki Nicosia, MSU
    Theresa Boruta, WIS
    Colleen Conway, MINN

    *- Unanimous selection



  • Related Stories