`Dogs Season Ends in NCAA Tournament

The Bulldogs compete in their third NCAA Tournament.

Kaitlyn Revel recored 10 saves against the Bruins.

Nov. 14, 2008

LOS ANGELES - Fresno State soccer run at the NCAA title was cut short after No. 1 seed UCLA beat the `Dogs 5-0. The Bulldogs advanced to the NCAA Tournament after Elora Martinez scored a game winning goal in double overtime against Utah State at the WAC Tournament. The `Dogs ended the season 11-9-2.

The Bulldog defense got tested right out of the gate. The Bruins took control and attacked the `Dogs goal right away.

The Bruins took an early 2-0 lead after McCall Zerboni scored back to back goals. All-WAC tournament MVP Ali Sill got a shot off along with All-WAC tournament team selection Elora Martinez. Revel retired the half with two saves. The Bruins outshot the Bulldogs 10-2.

In the second half the Bulldog defense was challenged from the first whistle. Fresno State held off the Bruin attack, but Zerboni scored her third goal of the night for a hat trick.

The Bruins scored two more goals by Kara Lang and Lauren Cheney.

The Bulldogs ended the game with five shots and Revel had 10 saves. Revel ended the season with 111 saves which lands her in fifth place in Fresno State history.

The Bulldogs finish the season with their second WAC Tournament Championship. The `Dogs made the NCAA Tournament for the third time in school history.The Bulldogs started the season 3-7 and at the beginning of WAC play turned it around and finished the second half of the season 9-2-2.

Fresno State had six players earn All-WAC honors and four named to the WAC All-Tournament team.

Seniors Selena Gill, Nicole Gutierrez, and Ali Sill graduate with more wins than any other class with 47. The three captains helped the `Dogs reach the NCAA Tournament as freshmen and seniors. Sill graduates as the career assist leader in Fresno State history.



The young Bulldog team gained experience after playing a tough UCLA program that will carry over to the 2009 season. The `Dogs return 20 student-athletes next year.

Related Stories