Former IU Standout Johnson Competes at U.S. Mid-Amateur

Shannon Johnson was an All-Big Ten performer in her one season at Indiana.

Sept. 9, 2008

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Former Indiana University women's golf standout Shannon Johnson (2005-06) earned a spot at the prestigious 2008 U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur at the Barton Hills Country Club in Ann Arbor, Mich., where she advanced to match play before falling to Mina Hardin of Ft. Worth, Texas in the first round.

"Anytime you can qualify for one of the 13 USGA Championships it means that you play at an elite level," said Indiana head women's golf coach Clint Wallman. "I know Shannon didn't fare as well as she wanted in this event, but I look for her to be a force in amateur golf for many years to come."

The event, which began on Sept. 6 and concludes Sept. 11, began with two rounds of stroke play, with the top 64 players advancing to match play. Johnson finished stroke play tied for 13th with rounds of 75 and 76 to finish at 7-over par.

In match play against Hardin on Monday, Johnson was 2 up after 10 holes after birdies on six and nine. Hardin had a birdie on 11 to cut Johnson's lead to one, and a bogey from Johnson on the par-4 14th hole evened things up. Hardin went 1 up as Johnson bogeyed 15, and cemented the two-stroke victory with another bogey from Johnson on 18.

In one season with the Hoosiers, Johnson competed in 32 rounds of play, earning All-Big Ten honors in 2006 after leading the team with a 74.38 stroke average. That is the third-lowest season average in school history. Johnson is also tied for second in the individual record book with a low round of 68, set at the 2006 UNLV Spring Invitational. In her one season at IU after transferring from New Mexico, Johnson won individual medalist honors at the Notre Dame Invitational and at UNLV. She closed out the season with a tie for eighth at the Big Ten Championships.

This year's IU women's golf team opens its season on Sept. 18 at the Branch Law Firm/Dick McGuire Invitational in Albuquerque, N.M. The Hoosiers return five letterwinners from last year's team which finished fourth at the Big Ten Championships and advanced to the NCAA East Regional.



Related Stories