Men's Tennis Making 11th NCAA Tournament Appearance

Texas A&M, SMU and Oral Roberts travel to Waco to join Baylor in first and second rounds.

Denes Lukacs will help lead the Bears into the NCAA Tournament first and second rounds, hosted in Waco.

April 29, 2008

WACO, Texas - For the third straight year Baylor men's and women's tennis teams have been selected to host NCAA Tennis Championship first and second rounds. Competition at the Baylor Tennis Center will be May 9-11. Men's teams joining Baylor in Waco include Texas A&M, SMU and Oral Roberts while women's teams include Baylor, TCU, Tulsa and Oral Roberts.

Baylor's men's squad, the tournament's No. 9 seed, will be making in its 11th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance. The Bears, currently 22-8 on the season and ranked No. 10 nationally, have been to four straight NCAA Final Fours, including a national title in 2004 and runner-up finish in 2005.

Men's competition will begin on Saturday, May 10. For the second straight season, head coach Matt Knoll's Bears will take on Oral Roberts at 11 a.m., Saturday in first round action, while Texas A&M and TCU will also meet in the first round at 2 p.m. Winners of Saturday matches will meet at 2 p.m. on Sunday.

Oral Roberts received an automatic selection by winning the Summit Conference. Oral Roberts squad finished regular season play with a record of 7-9.

Texas A&M is currently ranked No. 25 and comes into the tournament with a 12-11 record. SMU, ranked No. 40, is 20-8 on the season after falling to Rice in the Conference USA tournament semifinals.

"We're happy to host, we expected to host. It's exciting to have a chance to play here at home and have the NCAA Tournament come to Waco with both our men's and women's teams. I think it's a special event for us and we're really excited to get out and play on our home courts," said Knoll.

Schedule of competition:

Friday, May 9
3 p.m. - TCU vs. Tulsa
6 p.m. - Baylor vs. Oral Roberts

Saturday, May 10
11 a.m. - Baylor vs. Oral Roberts
2 p.m. - Texas A&M vs. SMU

5 p.m. - Women's first round winners



Sunday, May 11
2 p.m. - Men's first round winners

The winner of each site will advance to the NCAA Tennis Championships at the Michael D. Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Okla., hosted by the University of Tulsa. Competition in Athens is May 15-20. Men's round of 16 competition begins on May 16.

Related Stories