Naval Academy To Hos New Balance Major League Lacrosse Championship Weekend

Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium Secures MLL Championship Through 2011

Navy-Marine Corps Memorial STadium

Nov. 18, 2008

Boston, Mass. (November 18, 2008) - Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, and the Naval Academy Athletic Association (NAAA) announced today that they have come to terms on a multi-year agreement which will make Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium home to the New Balance Championship Weekend for the next three years, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross.

"Major League Lacrosse is excited to be bringing Championship Weekend to Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium and we are all looking forward to working with the wonderful staff at Navy to make this event a success," said Gross. "We're happy to be able to provide fans the opportunity to watch the best lacrosse players in the world compete for the MLL title in such a first-rate venue. And aside from being in the heart of the lacrosse community, the Annapolis area offers fans an array of activities and notable sites to enjoy as well."

"We are really excited to partner with Major League Lacrosse to bring the action to Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium," adds Chet Gladchuk, USNA Director of Athletics. "The venue should be a great environment for the fans, and making Annapolis a destination for the games delivers the whole package for family entertainment."

The 2009 New Balance MLL Championship Weekend will take place on Saturday and Sunday, August 22 and 23. The two semifinal games will take place at 12 PM ET and 3 PM ET on Saturday. The two semifinal winners will advance to the New Balance MLL Championship Game which will take place at 1 PM ET on Sunday.

Jon Brianas, Assistant Athletic Director for External Relations with the NAAA, worked closely on the arrangements with Major League Lacrosse. "The Naval Academy Athletic Association is proud to be working with Major League Lacrosse in their use of Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium for their Championship Weekend," said Brianas. "We're thrilled with the wonderful opportunity this presents for the Naval Academy and the City of Annapolis to showcase our world-class athletic facilities and Maryland's historic state capital. Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium is the premier athletic venue in the nation for the sport of lacrosse and the City of Annapolis with its abundant amenities and convenient location provides the ideal setting for a successful event. We all look forward to embracing Championship Weekend and becoming fans of Major League Lacrosse!"

Tickets for Championship Weekend are on sale now with complete weekend packages starting at just $25 for admission to all three games. Discounts are also available for groups of 20 or more. For more information, please call (866) MLL-TIXX or visit

The New Balance MLL Championship Weekend is the culminating event of the Major League Lacrosse season. The move to Navy marks the first time that the League Championship has been played outside of an MLL venue since the 2002 Championship Weekend was played at Crew Stadium in Columbus, Ohio.

As an anchor level corporate sponsor of Major League Lacrosse, New Balance is the "Official Footwear and Sideline Apparel of Major League Lacrosse." The New Balance logo also appears on the Boston Cannons team uniform. The Warrior Burn lacrosse shoe by New Balance debuted in February 2004. Designed and tested by members of the Warrior Lacrosse Players Club Team, the Burn is the world's first lacrosse shoe developed by the world's best players.

About Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium has emerged as the premier college lacrosse venue in the country and the home to Navy's men's and women's lacrosse programs. Though the 3 million-dollar facility opened its doors on Sept. 26, 1959, when Navy christened the stadium with a 29-2 win on the gridiron against William & Mary, the Navy lacrosse program would not play its first contest at the stadium until April 29, 1961. All-American George Tracy and attackman Patrick Fitzpatrick scored two goals apiece to lead the Midshipmen to a 9-7 victory over rival Maryland in Navy's debut at the two-year-old facility.

This spring marks the 48th season in which at least one Navy lacrosse game has been played at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium. Having played a game a year at the stadium for 42 consecutive years, the Midshipmen stepped away from the hallowed ground in 2003 as the stadium underwent a 40 million-dollar face-lift. When Navy returned to the field in 2004, the Midshipmen called the state-of-the-art multi-use facility their home for all home lacrosse games.

Navy owns a 97-56 (.634) all-time record in games played at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium. Since calling the stadium its permanent home in 2004, the Midshipmen have turned in a 29-9 (.763) record, including a flawless 13-0 mark in Patriot League affairs.

About New Balance New Balance, headquartered in Boston, MA has the following mission: Demonstrating responsible leadership, we build global brands that athletes are proud to wear, associates are proud to create and communities are proud to host. New Balance employs more than 4000 people around the globe, and in 2007 reported worldwide sales of $1.63 billion. For more information please visit

About Major League Lacrosse Major League Lacrosse, a 10-team professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded in 1999 by fitness entrepreneur Jake Steinfeld, CEO of Body by Jake Global L.L.C., and founding partners Dave Morrow, a former champion lacrosse player and now CEO of Warrior Lacrosse, a leading global provider of innovative and high performance lacrosse equipment; Timothy B. Robertson, former CEO of The Family Channel and the current chairman of Bay Shore Enterprises, L.L.C., an investment holding company with activities in international media and Internet technology ventures; and Jim Davis, Chairman of New Balance. The MLL commenced play in June of 2001. The MLL is comprised of two conferences. The Eastern Conference contains the original six teams, Boston, Long Island, New Jersey, Philadelphia, Rochester and Washington. The Western Conference debuted in the 2006 season with MLL expansion franchises Chicago, Denver, Los Angeles and San Francisco. Additional league information can be found at

Related Stories