Harrison Earns USILA's Enners and McLaughlin Awards

June 16, 2005

BALTIMORE, MD -- Johns Hopkins midfielder Kyle Harrison (Baltimore, MD/Friends) was named the 2005 recipient of both the USILA's Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award and the Lt. Donald McLaughlin, Jr. Award at the organization's annual All-America banquet on June 10. Harrison is the first Johns Hopkins player to earn the Enners Award as the nation's top player since Terry Riordan in 1995, while this is the second straight year he has earned the McLaughlin Award as the nation's top midfielder.

Harrison concluded a standout career by leading the Blue Jays to their first national championship since 1987 and their first undefeated season since 1984. He led the team in goals (24), assists (20), points (44) and ground balls (67) and won 39-of-64 (.609) faceoffs on the year as well. He earned First Team STX/USILA All-America honors for the second straight season, was named to the NCAA All-Tournament Team and became Hopkins' first recipient of the prestigious Tewaaraton Trophy, which is presented annually to the top male and female lacrosse player in the country.

As a junior he earned the McLaughlin Award as he scored a career-high 26 goals and added seven assists for 33 points en route to earning his first nod as a First Team All-American. The Blue Jays posted a 13-2 record and advanced to the national semifinals during his junior year.

Harrison saved his best for last as he guided the Blue Jays to a school-record 16 wins and the program's eighth NCAA Championship in 2005. Despite constant double and triple teaming he punched up career highs for assists and points as the Blue Jays became the first team since 1997 to be ranked number one throughout an entire season. The 1997 season was also the last time a team went undefeated and won the national championship.

Harrison was the top pick in the 2005 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft as the New Jersey Pride took him with the first pick in the first round.

A starter in all 61 games in his career, Harrison finished with career totals of 81 goals and 45 assists for 126 points. He finished 11th in school history in ground balls (304) and ranks among the top five in school history in career faceoff winning percentage as well (.611 / 328-of-537). He registered at least one point in each of the final 20 games of his career and totaled 19 goals and eight assists in 13 career games in the NCAA Tournament.

Harrison is the 11th Johns Hopkins player to win the Enners Award since the award was first presented in 1969. His selection as the McLaughlin Award recipient marks just the sixth time that a Johns Hopkins player has earned the award as the nation's top midfielder (award first presented in 1973). He joins Del Dressel (Johns Hopkins), Gary Gait (Syracuse) and Josh Sims (Princeton) as the only players to have earned the McLaughlin Award twice.

Johns Hopkins' All-Time Enners Award Winners: Joe Cowan (1969), Rick Kowalchuk (1974), Mike O'Neill (1978), Mark Greenberg (1979), Brendan Schneck (1980), Jeff Cook (1981), Larry Quinn (1984 & 1985), Dave Pietramala (1989), Terry Riordan (1995), Kyle Harrison (2005).

Johns Hopkins' All-Time McLaughlin Award Winners: Dave Huntley (1979), Brendan Schneck (1981), Del Dressel (1984 & 1985), Kyle Harrison (2004 & 2005).

- 30 -



Men's Lacrosse Home

Kyle Harrison is JHU's 11th Enners Award winner and fourth McLaughlin Award winner.
See Also
 Blue Jays Store
Message Boards
 Johns Hopkins message board
 Men's Lacrosse message board