Sullivan Adds To His All-America Resume

Tehachapi, Calif. product leads the nation averaging 2.36 field goals per game

Dec. 17, 2007

UPDATE - University of New Mexico senior kicker John Sullivan was named to the All-America team this morning, marking his third first team award for the 2007 season. Sullivan also earned first team All-America honors from The Sporting News and the Walter Camp Football Foundation, which boasts the nation's oldest All-America team.

Also a 2007 first team all-Mountain West Conference honoree, Sullivan leads the nation in field goals, averaging 2.36 per game. He has set school and conference records with 26 field goals made this year in 11 games played. The fifth-year senior from Tehachapi, Calif., is 9-9 from 40 to 49 yards this year and his field goals have provided the winning margin in four games for the 8-4 Lobos in 2007.

A four-year walk-on, Sullivan was placed on scholarship in August of 2007 - four months after suffering a torn ACL in his left plant leg during a kickoff drill in spring practice. He played his first football game since 2002 in the Lobos' season opener at UTEP, but began his career 2 of 4 on field goals in a four-point UNM loss. Since that game he has made 24 of 25 field goals - including a school record 18 straight - the second longest streak in the nation this year.

Fellow seniors Bryan Clampitt (Dallas, Texas) and Jon O'Brien (Tehachapi, Calif.) were instrumental in Sullivan's All-America campaign, handling the holding and snapping duties, respectively, on all of New Mexico's extra point and field goal attempts in 2007.

New Mexico will play Nevada in New Mexico Bowl II on Saturday, Dec. 22. The game will be televised live on ESPN at 2:30 p.m. as the only game in its time slot.

John Sullivan All-America Accolades In 2007

Walter Camp Football Foundation - first team - first team
The Sporting News - first team - second team

Associated Press - third team

Sports Illustrated - honorable mention

Sullivan is the first New Mexico player to earn first team All-America honors since Brian Urlacher in 1999.