Larkin, Ryan Named Scanlan Award Winners

Seniors honored at annual team banquet

Dec. 9, 2007

Senior defensive end Nick Larkin and senior quarterback Matt Ryan were named winners ot the 2007 Scanlan Award, the top honor bestowed upon a Boston College football player, representing excellence on the football field, academics, character and community service. The awards were presented at the team's annual Scanlan Awards banquet Sunday at the Sheraton hotel in Needham.

Ryan also picked up the William J. Flynn Award as the team's Most Valuable Player. Other winners included DeJuan Tribble and Kevin Challenger (Gridiron Club Award), Gosder Cherilus and Tyronne Pruitt (Unsung Hero Award), Jo-Lonn Dunbar and Andre Callender (Coaches' Award), Ryan Poles (Paul Cavanagh Award), Jamie Silva (Jay McGillis Award), Johnny Ayers (Special Teams Award), Dan Williams and John Siravo (Scout Team Award).