Crabtree's List of Honors Getting Longer

Texas Tech freshman honored by The Touchdown Club of Columbus with two awards

Dec. 9, 2007

LUBBOCK, Texas - Apparently, there's no end in sight - and that's a good thing. Texas Tech wide receiver Michael Crabtree (Dallas, Texas) added to his impressive list of postseason honors when The Touchdown Club of Columbus announced the Red Raider as its 2007 Freshman of the Year and recipient of its Paul Warfield Award, given annually to the nation's top receiver.

Crabtree joins Texas Tech quarterback Graham Harrell as an honoree of The Touchdown Club of Columbus as Harrell was awarded the Sammy Baugh Trophy as the nation's top quarterback. He is the third Tech quarterback to receive the award (Kliff Kingsbury, 2002; B.J. Symons, 2003).

Crabtree's list of postseason accolades is lengthy with All-America, all-conference, national and conference freshman of the year and Biletnikoff Award honors to mention a few. No other receiver in school history has been so decorated, and none since Lloyd Hill in 1992 has been named to an All-America first team. As a matter of fact, Crabtree joins Hill and Dave Parks (1963) as the only first-team wide receivers in school history.

AT&T named Crabtree one of four finalists for its All-America Player of the Year award, which is voted on entirely by fans. Fans can determine the winner by sending the text message VOTE to 87654 from a wireless phone and casting their vote. Voting is open until midnight Thurs., Jan. 3. Fans that participated in the AT&T All-America Player of the Week voting during the season automatically receive a text message with the nominees for player of the year. Other nominees include running back Darren McFadden (Arkansas), quarterback Tim Tebow (Florida) and defensive end Chris Long (Virginia).



Additionally, Crabtree was named's National Freshman of the Year on Saturday and selected to its All-America first team. He is the only freshman listed among the offensive and defensive teams.


BILETNIKOFF AWARD WINNER (National Receiver of the Year) - The Tallahassee Quarterback Club
PAUL WARFIELD AWARD WINNER (National Receiver of the Year) - The Touchdown Club of Columbus
ALL-AMERICA FIRST TEAM (Consensus) - Walter Camp, FWAA, AFCA, The Sporting News,,,
NATIONAL FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR ¬-, The Touchdown Club of Columbus
ALL-BIG 12 FIRST TEAM - Big 12 Coaches, Associated Press,,, The Sporting News,
	Dallas Morning News, San Antonio Express-News, Fort Worth Star-Telegram
BIG 12 CONFERENCE OFFENSIVE NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR - Associated Press, San Antonio Express-News
ALL-BIG 12 FRESHMAN TEAM - The Sporting News
STATISTICS - 125 receptions; 1,861 receiving yards; 21 receiving touchdowns - NCAA FRESHMAN RECORDS

Michael Crabtree has been showered with postseason honors after leading the nation's receivers in receptions (125), receiving yards (1,861) and receiving touchdowns (21).