Reggie Bush Named Walter Camp Football Foundation Player Of The Year

Dec. 8, 2005

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - University of Southern California junior running back Reggie Bush (Spring Valley, Calif.) has been selected as the 2005 Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year. Foundation President Allen Jackson made the announcement tonight during ESPN's 6:00 p.m. edition of SportsCenter.

The 39th recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, Bush is the fifth USC player (O.J. Simpson, 1967 and 1968; Charles White, 1979; and Marcus Allen, 1981; and Matt Leinart, 2004) to capture the honor. The Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the nation's 119 Division I-A coaches and sports information directors, is strongly viewed in the college football world as the favorite to win the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented on Saturday evening in New York City.

Other finalists for the award included Leinart, Texas quarterback Vince Young, Notre Dame Brady Quinn, and Ohio State linebacker A.J. Hawk.

"We are extremely pleased with the selection of Reggie Bush as our Player of the Year," Jackson said. "His all-around offensive dominance for the top-ranked Trojans has been impressive and worthy of this prestigious honor."

The 6-foot, 200-pound Bush has rushed for 1,658 yards and 15 touchdowns this season, averaging 8.9 yards a carry. In addition, he has 31 receptions for 383 yards and three more touchdowns. Bush is averaging 217.6 all-purpose yards per game this season for the undefeated and top-ranked Trojans, who have won 34 straight games. USC (12-0) will play second-ranked Texas in the Rose Bowl on January 4, 2006 for the national championship. The leader of a Trojan offensive unit that averages a remarkable 50.0 points a game, Bush was named the PAC-10's Offensive Player of the Year. In his final two games of the regular-season, Bush accumulated 554 rushing yards, including a career-best 294-yard effort in a win over Fresno State on November 19. In that game, Bush totaled a Pac-10 record 513 all-purpose yards.


Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

Bush and the members of the 2005 Walter Camp All-America team will be honored at the organization's national awards banquet on February 11, 2006 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. Tickets ($250) are available by calling (203) 288-CAMP.

Walter Camp Player of the Year Recipients (1967-2005)

2005 - Reggie Bush, University of Southern California 2004 - Matt Leinart, University of Southern California 2003 - Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh 2002 - Larry Johnson, Penn State 2001 - Eric Crouch, Nebraska 2000 - Josh Heupel, Oklahoma 1999 - Ron Dayne, Wisconsin 1998 - Ricky Williams, Texas 1997 - Charles Woodson, Michigan 1996 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida 1995 - Eddie George, Ohio State 1994 - Rashaan Salaam, Colorado 1993 - Charlie Ward, Florida State 1992 - Gina Torretta, Miami 1991- Desmond Howard, Michigan 1990 - Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame 1989 - Anthony Thompson, Indiana 1988 - Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State 1987 - Tim Brown, Notre Dame 1986 - Vinny Testaverde, Miami 1985 - Bo Jackson, Auburn 1984 - Doug Flutie, Boston College 1983 - Mike Rozier, Nebraska 1982 - Herschel Walker, Georgia 1981 - Marcus Allen, University of Southern California 1980 - Hugh Green, Pittsburgh 1979 - Charles White, University of Southern California 1978 - Billy Sims, Oklahoma 1977 - Ken MacAfee, Notre Dame 1976 - Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh 1975 - Archie Griffin, Ohio State 1974 - Archie Griffin, Ohio State 1973 - John Cappelletti, Penn State 1972 - Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska 1971 - Pat Sullivan, Auburn 1970 - Jim Plunkett, Stanford 1969 - Steve Owens, Oklahoma 1968 - O.J. Simpson, University of Southern California 1967 - O.J. Simpson, University of Southern California

Football Home

Reggie Bush has been named 2005 Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year
See Also
 Trojans Store
Message Boards
 USC message board
 Football message board