Crabtree Named 2007 Biletnikoff Award Winner

Becomes first freshman to win the award and the 14th overall recipient

Dec. 6, 2007

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech freshman wide receiver Michael Crabtree took home the school's first major college football award since 1996 as he was awarded the 2007 Biletnikoff Trophy tonight at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show at Disney's Atlantic Dance Hall.

"I am very excited and honored to take this award home to Texas Tech," said Crabtree. "I have to give thanks to my parents, coaches and teammates because without them this would not have been possible."

Crabtree (Dallas, Texas/Carter High School) became the first freshman to win the coveted trophy and the 14th overall winner. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club gave out the first trophy back in 1994 to Bobby Engram of Penn State and last year's award went to Calvin Johnson of Georgia Tech. Along with the Biletnikoff Award, he was also named to the Walter Camp All-American Team at wide receiver and is Tech's first player on that team since Montae Reagor (defensive end) back in 1998.

The last Red Raider to take home a major award was Byron Hanspard in 1996 when he was named recipient of the Doak Walker Award for the nation's top running back.

"This is the culmination of two years of hard work for Michael," said Texas Tech Head Coach Mike Leach. "He is one of the hardest working guys in practice, day-in and day-out, and it translated into him being the best receiver in the country. I congratulate the other finalists and Michael is very deserving of this honor."

Crabtree is the national leader in receiving yards (1,861), receptions (125) and touchdown receptions (21) and is on pace to become one of the most decorated football student-athletes in school history.

On the night, a total of nine awards were distributed at the Atlantic Dance Hall on the Disney Boardwalk including the Maxwell, Doak Walker and Davey O'Brien awards. The show was hosted by the ESPN College Gameday crew.



Michael Crabtree