O'Leary Named C-USA Coach Of The Year By His League Peers

Fourth-year leader of the Knights wins award for second time in three seasons

Dec. 5, 2007

Orlando, Fla. (www.ucfathletics.com) - Fresh off winning the school's first conference championship in program history, UCF head coach George O'Leary was named the Coaches' Conference USA Coach of the Year on Wednesday, league officials announced. The league's head coaches selected O'Leary for the honor for the second time in the Knights' three seasons in the 12-member conference.

The Knights capped off the regular season with a 44-25 triumph over Tulsa last Saturday in the Bright House Networks Conference USA Championship Game. The Knights' second victory over the Golden Hurricane this season gave UCF a 10-win season for the just the second time in program history. It also extended the team's winning streak to seven games, which is a program record.

A two-time national coach of the year, O'Leary has guided UCF to a pair of C-USA East Division titles and the squad will make its second bowl appearance in program history later this month. The Knights (10-3) will play SEC-foe Mississippi State (7-5) in the 49th AutoZone Liberty Bowl on Dec. 29 in Memphis, Tenn. The game will be televised nationally on ESPN with kickoff set for 4:30 p.m. ET.

The league's head coaches also honored Tulsa's Paul Smith as the C-USA Offensive Player of the Year, Southern Miss' Gerald McRath as the Defensive Player of the Year, East Carolina's Christ Johnson as the Special Teams Player of the Year and Tulsa's Brennan Marion as the league's Newcomer of the Year.

Fans wishing to purchase tickets or bowl travel packages can visit www.ucfathletics.com or call 407-823-1000 for more information.

For the latest news and information on the Knights, tickets or apparel log on to www.UCFAthletics.com - the official site for UCF varsity sports. Also check out UCFPhotos.com, the exclusive fan source for UCF action sports photos.




UCF head coach George O'Leary earned his second C-USA Coach of the Year honor as both the league's media and head coaches awarded him for the Knights' championship season.