Texas Center Wins Draddy Award

Award given out to the top scholar-athlete in college football

Dec. 5, 2007

NEW YORK (AP) - Texas center Dallas Griffin won the Draddy Award as the top scholar-athlete in college football.

Griffin, a senior, was honored by the National Football Foundation at its Hall of Fame induction banquet Wednesday night at the Waldorf-Astoria in midtown Manhattan.

Griffin has already graduated with a double major in business and finance and is enrolled in UT's MBA program.

Fifteen other players were nominated from all levels of college football for the so-called academic Heisman.

The finalists from the Bowl Subdivision were Washington State quarterback Alex Brink, Notre Dame tight end John Carlson, Oregon quarterback Dennis Dixon, Iowa linebacker Mike Klinkenborg, Illinois linebacker J Leman, Rutgers linebacker Brandon Renkart, Tulsa quarterback Paul Smith and Kentucky tight end Jacob Tamme.

The Championship Subdivision finalists were Texas State defensive end Nick Clark and Dayton safety Brandon Cramer.

Delta State linebacker Michael Eubanks and Chadron State running back Danny Woodhead were the Division II finalists. Woodhead set an all-division career rushing record this season.

Representing Division III were Mount Union center Eric Safran and Illinois College defensive back Jake Weller.