Matt Ryan Wins 2007 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Senior quarterback will be honored in Baltimore, Md., on Dec. 7, 2007

Dec. 3, 2007

Boston College quarterback Matt Ryan is the 2007 recipient of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. The announcement was made live by John Unitas, Jr. from the Sports Legends Museum in Baltimore, Md., on Monday evening.

The Golden Arm Award is presented annually to the top senior quarterback by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Foundation. The award acknowledges performance on the field, but it goes beyond completion percentage and touchdown strikes. The award values character, citizenship, integrity and those who honor the game.

Ryan has thrown for 4,258 yards and 28 touchdowns - both school records - in 13 games this season. The Exton, Pa., product has registered nine 300-yard passing games, including four games with more than 400 yards. Ryan captured ACC Player of the Year honors and gained American Football Coaches Association All-America honors.

The other finalists for the 2007 award were Hawaii's Colt Brennan, Louisville's Brian Brohm, Oregon's Dennis Dixon and Kentucky's Andre Woodson.

The 2007 recipient will be honored at an award ceremony on December 7, 2007 at the Tremont Grand Meeting & Banquet Facility, in downtown Baltimore, Maryland.

This prestigious award bears the name of who many refer to as the finest quarterback to ever play the game of football. Established in 1987, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award has previously honored 20 outstanding young men. Among the past recipients are Brady Quinn (2006), Matt Leinart (2005), Eli Manning (2004), Jason White (2003), Carson Palmer (2002) and David Carr (2001).



Matt Ryan is the 2007 recipient of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award