Koehl Selected To Butkus Award List

Aug. 20, 2004

HOUSTON, Texas - The preseason accolades keep poring in for the University of Houston, as today sophomore linebacker Wade Koehl (Midland, Texas) was named to the Butkus Award Watch List in an announcement made by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc., today. The award, in its 20th season, is presented to the nation's best collegiate linebacker, and Koehl is one of seven from Conference USA and 65 overall. Koehl began his true freshman in 2003 on the sidelines, but injuries forced him into the lineup against Louisiana-Lafayette on September 13, and just two weeks later he was thrust into a starter's role against East Carolina on national television. He led all UH freshman defenders with 61 total tackles while appearing in 11 games with five starts. En route to a Conference USA All-Freshman Team selection, Koehl posted a career-high 12 tackles against Memphis and nine a piece in the games versus TCU and UAB. He finished the year averaging 5.5 tackles per game and 7.6 stops a contest in league action. Koehl becomes the fourth Cougar to be named to the national watch lists of prestigious awards, joining quarterback Kevin Kolb (Walter Camp Award, Davey O'Brien Quarterback Award and Maxwell Award), kicker Dustin Bell (Lou Groza Award) and defensive end Joe Clay (Lombardi Award) on these illustrious lists. The Watch List will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists on Thursday, Oct. 14, and trimmed down to three via a national teleconference with the players, coaches and members of the media, and Butkus Award officials on Thursday, Nov. 11. Rounding up the other six nominees from C-USA are seniors Michael Boley of Southern Miss, Jamar Enzor of Cincinnati, Robert McCune of Louisville and Zac Woodfin of UAB, junior Chris Moore of East Carolina and sophomore Stephen Nicholas of USF. --- www.UHcougars.com ---

Football Home

Sophomore linebacker Wade Koehl was named to the Butkus Award Watch List.
See Also
 Cougars Store
Message Boards
 Houston message board
 Football message board