Kolb Makes It Three For Three In Watch Lists

Aug. 19, 2004

HOUSTON, Texas - For the third time in last month University of Houston sophomore quarterback Kevin Kolb (Stephenville, Texas) has been named to a national watch list, this time being selected to the 2004 Walter Camp Football Foundation Award, given annually to the nation's most outstanding college football player. Kolb has already been named to the Davey O'Brien Quarterback Award and Maxwell Award Watch Lists. Kolb is one of only two players from Conference USA to be selected to this prestigious watch list. Memphis junior running back DeAngelo Williams is the other. In becoming the first-ever true freshman starting quarterback in UH history, Kolb led the Cougars to their first bowl berth in seven years and was named the 2003 Conference USA Freshman of the Year in the process. Kolb shattered every single Cougar freshman passing mark en route to 3,131 yards and 25 touchdowns throwing the ball. He completed an astonishing 61.1 percent of his passes (220 of 360) with just six interceptions. Kolb also rushed for 346 yards and seven touchdowns while averaging 267.5 yards of total offense per game. All his passing and total offense numbers were tops nationally among Division I-A freshmen quarterbacks. Besides his league freshman honor, Kolb also was a Third Team, All-Conference USA selection and was named a Third Team, Freshman All-America by The Sporting News. CollegeFootballNews.com named him their 2003 Freshman of the Year, and he was twice named C-USA Offensive Player of the Week. Kolb topped 300 yards passing on four different occasions, including a career-best 434 against TCU. In the game versus the Horned Frogs, Kolb became just the fourth quarterback in NCAA Division I-A history to pass for over 400 yards and rush for over 100 yards (he had a career-best 144.) The watch list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists in early November. The 2004 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 117 Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on February 13, 2005 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. Last year's recipient was University of Pittsburgh wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald, the first-ever sophomore to capture the honor. Fitzgerald is currently a member of the Arizona Cardinals. Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp, a former Yale University athlete and football coach, is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation, a New Haven-based all-volunteer group, was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

Football Home

Sophomore quarterback Kevin Kolb was named to the Walter Camp Football Foundation Award Watch List.
See Also
 Cougars Store
Message Boards
 Houston message board
 Football message board