DeAngelo Williams Named to Walter Camp Watch List

Aug. 19, 2004

Two Conference USA players are among the preseason candidates for the 2004 Walter Camp Football Foundation Award, given annually to the nation's most outstanding college football player. Houston sophomore QB Kevin Kolb and Memphis junior RB DeAngelo Williams are C-USA's representatives on the preseason watch list. All eyes will be on Williams this season as he returns from a torn MCL that held him out of the New Orleans Bowl victory last December. Williams was named the C-USA Offensive Player of the Year last season as a sophomore after rushing for 1,430 yards on 243 carries. He ranked fifth nationally in rushing, and led the country in all-purpose yardage. Williams also scored a league-high 13 touchdowns, while setting a new league record with 10 consecutive 100-yard rushing games. A leader in the classroom, as well, Williams was named to the CoSIDA All-District Academic All-American team and was presented the New Orleans Bowl Scholar-Athlete Award. In becoming the first-ever true freshman starting quarterback in UH history, Kolb led the Cougars to their first bowl berth in seven years and was named the 2003 Conference USA Freshman of the Year in the process. He shattered every single Cougar freshman passing mark en route to 3,131 yards and 25 touchdowns throwing the ball. Kolb completed an astonishing 61.1 percent of his passes (220 of 360) with just six interceptions. Kolb also rushed for 346 yards and seven touchdowns while averaging 267.5 yards of total offense per game. All of his passing and total offense numbers were tops nationally among Division I-A freshmen quarterbacks. The watch list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists in early November. The 2004 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 117 Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on February 13, 2005 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. Last year's recipient was University of Pittsburgh wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald, the first-ever sophomore to capture the honor. Fitzgerald is currently a member of the Arizona Cardinals. Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp, a former Yale University athlete and football coach, is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation, a New Haven-based all-volunteer group, was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.


Marion Barber III, RB, Minnesota
Cedric Bensen, RB, Texas
Josh Bullocks, LB, Nebraska
Timmy Chang, QB, Hawaii
Patrick Cobbs, RB, North Texas
Dan Cody, DE, Oklahoma
Mark Clayton, WR, Oklahoma
P.J. Daniels, RB, Georgia Tech
Anthony Davis, RB, Wisconsin
Braylon Edwards, WR, Michigan
David Greene, QB, Georgia
Matt Grotegoed, LB, USC
Tramain Hall, RB, North Carolina State
A.J. Hawk, LB, Ohio State
Matt Herian, TE, Nebraska
Derrick Johnson, LB, Texas
Kevin Kolb, QB, Houston
Chris Leak, QB, Florida
Matt Leinart, QB, USC
Jermelle Lewis, RB, Iowa
Geoff McArthur, WR, California
DonTrell Moore, RB, New Mexico
Lance Moore, WR, Toledo
Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut
Kyle Orton, QB, Purdue
David Pollack, DE, Georgia
Walter Reyes, RB, Syracuse
Chris Rix, QB, Florida State
Aaron Rodgers, QB, California
Antrel Rolle, DB, Miami (Fla.)
Brad Smith, QB, Missouri
Darren Sproles, RB, Kansas State
Justin Vincent, RB, LSU
Andrew Walter, QB, Arizona State
Corey Webster, DB, LSU
Jason White, QB, Oklahoma
Charlie Whitehurst, QB, Clemson
DeAngelo Williams, RB, Memphis
Carnell Williams, RB, Auburn
Vincent Young, QB, Texas

Football Home

See Also
 Tigers Store
Message Boards
 Memphis message board
 Football message board