Lineman Rogers Named to Outland Watch List

June 19, 2006

Houston, Texas - University of Houston junior offensive tackle SirVincent Rogers today was named to the Outland Trophy Watch List, becoming one of 54 standout linemen from around the country to be considered for this prestigious award.

The 2006 watch list was announced by the Football Writers Association of America.

A two-year starter for the Cougars, Rogers was named Conference USA Third Team in 2005 after helping solidify the UH offensive line with his move from right tackle to the opposite side. Rogers was one of only nine players to start all 12 game and helped open holes for a 1,000-yard rusher (Ryan Gilbert) and protected a 3,000-yard passer (Kevin Kolb).

Rogers broke on to the scene as a true freshman in 2004, jumping into the starting lineup in fourth game of the season against nationally ranked Miami (Fla.). He was named to the Conference USA All-Freshman Team.

Rogers is the second Cougar to be honored as a preseason watch list selection, joining senior quarterback Kevin Kolb (Maxwell Award).

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best offensive or defensive lineman in college football since 1946. The winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selected the association's 25-man team and picks three Outland Trophy finalists.

The 2006 Outland Trophy announcement will be on December 7 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee and First Data Corporation, is set for January 11, 2007, in Omaha, Neb.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded annually by the FWAA since 1946. It is named after the late John Outland, a lineman at Pennsylvania at the turn of the century.


For a complete list of the Outland Trophy Watch List, please visit

Football Home

Junior offensive tackle SirVincent Rogers is on the preseason Outland Trophy Watch List.
See Also
 Cougars Store
Message Boards
 Houston message board
 Football message board