CSTV Networks and Mountain West Conference Make History With the Debut of the First-Ever Collegiate Super Regional Sports Network
 
 

April 18, 2006

SAN DIEGO - President of CSTV Regional Networks Chris Bevilacqua and Mountain West Conference Commissioner Craig Thompson jointly announced today during a press conference at the Marriott Marina Hotel in San Diego the launch of The mtn. - MountainWest Sports Network, and unveiled the network's 2006 MWC football television schedule.  The mtn. - MountainWest Sports Network, is the first-ever super regional sports network dedicated solely to an intercollegiate athletic conference.  The mtn. will launch later this summer and debut its first live football telecasts on Saturday, September 2. 

 

The mtn. - MountainWest Sports Network will carry 36 MWC football games, 150 basketball games and over 200 men's and women's Olympic sports contests, including conference championships this season and a myriad of other conference and region specific sports programming.  In addition to telecasts on the MountainWest Sports Network, bonus games will also air in local markets, resulting in the entire MWC football schedule being televised.  CSTV's national football schedule, which will carry several prominent MWC games, will be announced on Wednesday, April 19. 

 

* The complete 2006 MWC football schedule on The mtn. is included below.

 

The mtn. - MountainWest Sports Network kicks off its live game coverage on Saturday, September 2 at 4:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. MT with Utah State at Wyoming.  In addition to the comprehensive football schedule, the network will feature programming blanketing the entire playing field throughout Mountain West communities, including comprehensive coverage of the 19 MWC men's and women's sports, local high school sports, Olympic sports, education and lifestyle content and original programming from the member institutions.  Shows will tap into the local sports culture with features on athletes, coaches, cheerleaders and coverage of locker room talks, pep rallies and much more.

 

"The launch of The mtn. later this summer is a huge breakthrough in sports programming and will completely change the way fans stay connected with the teams, rivalries and pageantry of the Mountain West Conference," said Bevilacqua.  "The Mountain West Conference is a terrific partner and together, we're providing fans a

 

P. 2...The mtn. - MountainWest Sports Network

 

super regional network offering unparalleled access to each and every local sports community within the Mountain West region." 

 

"This announcement has been two years in the making," said MWC Commissioner Craig Thompson.  "From inception, the backbone of Mountain West Conference coverage has been programming on our own regional network.  We are thrilled to offer this unprecedented exposure to our fans."

 

In addition to the Mountain West Conference football games broadcast for television on The mtn. - MountainWest Sports Network, MWC football games will be available in other formats, including online via CSTV.com's broadband product, high definition, video-on-demand and wireless.

 

In August 2004, CSTV and the Mountain West Conference announced their landmark exclusive partnership, incorporating all conference-related media and marketing rights, including all television, national cable and satellite radio, video-on-demand, online, broadband and exclusive corporate sponsorship rights.   In September 2004, CSTV and the Mountain West announced that they will partner on the first ever regional sports network dedicated solely to an intercollegiate athletic conference.

 

About The mtn. - MountainWest Sports Network

The mtn. - MountainWest Sports Network, is the first and only network completely dedicated to an NCAA Division I athletic conference.  Founded by CSTV Networks and the Mountain West Conference, The mtn. - MountainWest Sports Network is built upon the passion surrounding the Mountain West community and will feature comprehensive coverage of the nearly 20 MWC men's and women's sports, local high school sports, Olympic sports, education and lifestyle content and original programming. 

 

About CSTV Networks

CSTV Networks, Inc., now part of the CBS Corporation, is the leading digital and cable programming company dedicated to college sports. Connecting more fans to more college sports than any other company, its many platforms for programming distribution include CSTV: College Sports TV, televising regular-season and championship events for 35 men's and women's college sports; CSTV.com and its network of more than 250 official athletic sites; CSTV All Access, broadband services providing live audio and video of more than 7,000 events annually; as well as satellite television and radio, in-flight entertainment, wireless networks and more.  Further information is available at www.CSTV.com.

 

About The Mountain West Conference

The Mountain West Conference is one of the top collegiate conferences in the college sports arena and is comprised of nine Division I-A institutions including, The United States Air Force Academy, Brigham Young University, Colorado State University, University of New Mexico, and University of Nevada, Las Vegas, San Diego State University, Texas Christian University, University of Utah and the University of Wyoming.

 

# # #

 

Media Contacts:

Javan Hedlund, MWC Assistant Commissioner for Communications

Office: 719-488-4051, Cell: 719-648-4027

 

Dan Sabreen, CSTV Networks Manager, Sports Communications

Office: 646-731-2357, Cell: 202-321-4195

 

 

 

The mtn. - MountainWest Sports Network
2006 Football Schedule

 

Saturday, September 2                      Utah State @ Wyoming, 4:30 ET/2:30 MT

                                                                Weber State @ Colorado State, 5:00 ET/3:00 MT

                                                                Portland State @ New Mexico, 8:00 ET/6:00 MT          

Idaho State @ UNLV, 10:00 ET/7:00 PT

 

Saturday, September 9                      Tulsa @ BYU, 4:00 ET/2:00 MT

                                                                Northern Arizona @ Utah, 8:00 ET/6:00 MT

 

Saturday, September 16    Boise State @ Wyoming, 3:30 ET/1:30 MT

Missouri @ New Mexico, 8:00 ET/6:00 MT

 

Saturday, September 23    Utah State @ BYU, 3:00 ET/1:00 MT

Air Force @ Wyoming, 4:30 ET/2:30 MT

                                                                Utah @ San Diego State, 8:00 ET/5:00 PT

 

Saturday, September 30    New Mexico @ Air Force, 2:00 ET/12:00 MT

                                                                Boise State @ Utah, 8:00 ET/6:00 MT

                                                                Nevada @ UNLV, 10:00 ET/7:00 PT

 

Saturday, October 7                            San Diego State @ BYU, 2:00 ET/12:00 MT

UNLV @ Colorado State, 5:00 ET/3:00 MT

                                                                Wyoming @ New Mexico, 8:00 ET/6:00 MT

 

Saturday, October 14                          Utah @ Wyoming, 3:00 ET/1:00 MT

 

Thursday, October 19                         Utah @ New Mexico, 9:00 ET/7:00 MT

 

Saturday, October 21                          UNLV @ BYU, 3:00 ET/1:00 MT

                                                                Air Force @ San Diego State, 8:00 ET/5:00 PT

                               

Saturday, October 28                          BYU @ Air Force, 2:00 ET/12:00 MT

New Mexico @ Colorado State, 5:30 ET/3:30 MT

                                                                Wyoming @ TCU, 7:00 ET/6:00 CT

                                                                Cal Poly @ San Diego State, 8:00 ET/5:00 PT

 

Saturday, November 4                        TCU @ UNLV, 3:00 ET/12:00 PT

BYU @ Colorado State, 6:30 ET/4:30 MT

 

Saturday, November 11                     Colorado State @ Utah, 2:00 ET/12:00 MT

                                                                TCU @ New Mexico, 5:30 ET/3:30 MT

                                                                UNLV @ San Diego State, 8:00 ET/5:00 PT

 

*Saturday, November 18    Utah @ Air Force, 2:00 ET/12:00 MT

New Mexico @ BYU, 3:00 ET/1:00 MT

                                                                Wyoming @ UNLV, 4:00 ET/1:00 PT

                                                                San Diego State @ TCU, 7:00 ET/6:00 CT

 

Saturday, November 25                     San Diego State @ New Mexico, 2:30 ET/12:30 MT

TCU @ Colorado State, 6:00 ET/4:00 MT

                               

*Saturday December 2                       Air Force @ TCU 4:30 ET/3:30 CT OR

Colorado State @ San Diego State 8:00 ET/5:00 PT

 

* One game will be televised on CSTV: College Sports Television.


 

 


 
Football Home
 

MountainWest Sports Network