Randle to Compete in Pair of Final Four Events

Illini senior will participate in dunk contest and all-star game

Brian Randle will compete in a dunk contest and all-star game at the Final Four.

Brian Randle will compete in a dunk contest and all-star game at the Final Four.

April 2, 2008

Champaign, Ill. - Illinois senior Brian Randle (East Peoria, Ill.) will participate in a pair of events this week in San Antonio surrounding the Final Four.

Randle has been chosen to compete in the dunk portion of the 20th annual State Farm College Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships on Thursday, April 3. The event will be held at 5:30 p.m. CDT at Greehey Arena on the campus of St. Mary's University. It will be televised at 8 p.m. on ESPN.

Randle has also been selected to participate in the DiGiorno College All-Star Game on Friday, April 4. The annual game, coordinated by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), features 22 of the nation's top seniors split into two teams. It will be held at 5 p.m. CDT at the Alamodome and will be televised on CSTV.

Randle will play on the American Team, coached by recently retired South Carolina coach Dave Odom. Clemson's Oliver Purnell will coach the National Team.

State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships
Slam Dunk Participants

Deron Washington, Virginia Tech

James Gist, Maryland

JR Giddens, New Mexico

Patrick Ewing JR., Georgetown

Brian Randle, Illinois

Will Bullard, TAMU - CC

Sonny Weems, Arkansas
AJ Bowen, Augusta State

Men's 3-Point Participants
 Drew Neitzel, Michigan State 
Chris Lofton, Tennessee
 AJ Graves, Butler
 Shan Foster, Vanderbilt 
Derrick Low, Washington State
 Jamar Butler, Ohio State
 Brian Roberts, Dayton
 Jaycee Carroll, Utah State

Women's 3-Point Participants
 Allie Quigley, DePaul
 Chioma Nnamaka, Georgia Tech
 Marscilla Packer, Ohio State 
Joyce Ekworomadu, Texas State
 Meg Bulger, West Virginia 
 Maurita Reid, Miami
 Kiki Lund, Dayton
 Quianna Chaney, LSU

DiGiorno College All-Star Game Rosters American Team Mike Green Butler G Sundiata Gaines Georgia G Jaycee Carroll Utah State G Robert McKiver Houston G Charles Rhodes Mississippi State F/C Brian Butch Wisconsin F/C James Gist Maryland F Brian Randle Illinois F Robbie Cowgill Washington State F Alex Harris UC-Santa Barbara G David Padgett Louisville C Head Coach: Dave Odom, former South Carolina

National Team Jonathan Wallace Georgetown G Marcelus Kemp Nevada G Cliff Hammonds Clemson G DeMarcus Nelson Duke G Ramel Bradley Kentucky G Shan Foster Vanderbilt G/F Will Daniels Rhode Island F Aleks Maric Nebraska C Josh Duncan Xavier F Joe Jones Texas A&M F/C Jason Thompson Rider F/C Head Coach: Oliver Purnell, Clemson

Related Stories