Two Sun Devils Named To Wallace Award Watch List

Sogard and Davis named to Player of the Year Award list

Ike Davis was the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year a season ago.

Ike Davis was the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year a season ago.

Nov. 21, 2006

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State junior infielder Eric Sogard and sophomore OF/LHP Ike Davis are two of 120 college baseball student-athletes named to the initial watch list for the 2007 Brooks Wallace Award presented by the College Baseball Foundation.

Now in its fourth year, the award is presented annually to the national college baseball player of the year. Last year's winner was pitcher Brad Lincoln of Houston. The list will be trimmed to 12 semi-finalists in May, and then down to three finalists following the Super Regionals in June.

Sogard (Phoenix, Ariz.) and Davis (Scottsdale, Ariz.) are two of 10 Pac-10 players named to the initial Wallace Watch. Oregon State's Darwin Barney, Washington State's Jared Prince, Stanford's Michael Taylor, Washington's Matt Hague, Arizona's Bill Rhinehart, Cal's Tyson Ross, USC's Matt Cusick and UCLA's Brandon Crawford join Sogard and Davis as Pac-10 players up for the award.

Sogard had a breakout sophomore season, batting .353, tying for the team lead with nine home runs, slugging .625 and knocking in 50 runs, helping the Devils to their seventh straight postseason appearance. In addition to the 2006 Second Team All-American selection by the NCBWA, he was named a Third Team All-American by Collegiate Baseball and an Honorable Mention All-American by He also earned First Team All-Pac-10 honors following his first full season of action in 2006.

Davis had one of the best freshman seasons in ASU history, setting an ASU freshman record with 65 RBI. He tied with Sogard for the team lead in home runs and also pitched in 14 games. Davis was named the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, as well as First Team All-Pac-10, ABCA All-West Region, Collegiate Baseball Freshman All-American and a Second Team Freshman All-American by Baseball America.

Dedicated to the memory of former Texas Tech shortstop and assistant coach, Brooks Wallace was a slick-fielding shortstop at Texas Tech from 1977 to 1980. A four-year starter, he was named All-Southwest Conference and All-District Six his senior year when he lead the Red Raiders to their first-ever appearance in the Southwest Conference Tournament. After playing two years in the Texas Rangers organization, he returned to Texas Tech and served as a graduate assistant and later as an assistant coach. In the summer of 1984 he was diagnosed with cancer and fought the disease courageously until his death on March 24, 1985, at age 27.

The selection committee for the Wallace Award is comprised of a national panel of preeminent coaches, sports information directors, former winners and beat media who mostly closely follow the sport. Screening Committee members will evaluate the candidates and will continue their review throughout the entire baseball season. Additional Watch List candidates may be added as the season progresses. Voting for the three Wallace Award finalists and the Wallace Award winner will be conducted by confidential balloting, with totals tabulated by the J.W.Anderson & Associates accounting firm in Lubbock, Texas.

Related Stories