TCU places 57 student-athletes on Academic All-MWC spring squad

The Horned Frogs were represented by student-athletes from 10 different spring programs.

Joe Brown

Joe Brown

June 19, 2008

TCU placed 57 student-athletes on the Academic All-Mountain West Conference Team for the spring semester - which was announced on Thursday (June 19) afternoon.

The Horned Frogs had representatives from 10 athletic programs on the Academic All-Mountain West Conference Team - which included student-athletes from baseball, men's basketball, men's golf, women's golf, men's swimming and diving, women's swimming and diving, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track and field and women's track and field.

The women's swimming and diving program had the most members as they were represented by 16 award winners while baseball and women's track and field notched nine and eight honorees, respectively. In total - 730 student-athletes were selected to the Academic All-Mountain West Conference spring team from all nine conference programs.

"The All-Mountain West Conference Award truly exemplifies the hard work and commitment that goes into being a successful student-athlete," said Chris Uchacz - Director of Athletics Academic Services. "Each of the 57 student-athletes named to the Spring 2008 Academic All-MWC Team exemplify how it is possible for TCU student-athletes to excel in both the classroom and athletic arena. We are very proud of each and every one of our recipients and will continue to support them in their athletic endeavors as they strive to earn a TCU diploma."

In order to eligible for Academic All-Mountain West Conference laurels - student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the member institution while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better and be a starter or significant contributor on their athletic team.

Below is a list of the 2008 Academic All-Mountain West Conference Spring Squad:

Clint Arnold
Andrew Cashner
Chris Ellington
Steven Ellington
Dillon Farish
Sean Hoelscher
Eric Marshall
Derek VerHagen
Hunt Woodruff

Men's Basketball
Kevin Langford
Mike Scott

Men's Golf
James Sacheck
Travis Woolf

Women's Golf
Valentine Derrey
Melissa Loh
Carrie Morris

Men's Swimming and Diving
Joshua Bagby
Benjamin Biefnes
Joseph Callens
Jason Hauck
William Orser
Garrett Weaver
Trevor Woods

Women's Swimming and Diving
Sarah Bardwell
Ellen Bradley
Melanie Cruthirds
Jennifer Ferguson
Destiny Glampe
Meredith Grubb
Hannah Hale
Heather Heefner
Kimberly Jones
Shannon Jones
Maribeth Pottenger
Michelle Pottenger
Samantha Smith
Cheryl Townsend
Keilah Walker
Macy Zander

Men's Tennis
Cosmin Cotet
Zach Nichols
Casey Powers

Women's Tennis
Maria Babanova
Macall Harkins
Kewa Nichols
Anna Sydorska
Katarina Tuohimaa

Men's Track and Field
Joseph Brown
Thomas Killen
Jeffrey Pels
Sean Zurko

Women's Track and Field
Elisabeth Paity
Brittany Blaylock
Crystal Fernoglio
Tanja Ivandic
Ashley Millerick
Meaghan Ryan
Kara Weaver
Ashley Young

TCU Athletic Media Relations

Related Stories