Lincoln Named One of 16 Semifinalists for Dick Howser Trophy

Honor Comes Day after Being Named Semifinalist for Roger Clemens Award

Junior Brad Lincoln ranks among the Top Seven C-USA individual leaders in five of the six Triple Crown categories.

Junior Brad Lincoln ranks among the Top Seven C-USA individual leaders in five of the six Triple Crown categories.

May 19, 2006

HOUSTON - University of Houston junior righthander/DH Brad Lincoln was named as one of 16 semifinalists for the 2006 Dick Howser Trophy on Thursday.

A day after being named one of 10 semifinalists for The Roger Clemens Award, given to the top pitcher in college baseball, Lincoln was chosen as one of the 16 best players in the nation by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association working in conjunction with the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce.

The membership of the NCBWA will choose the Dick Howser Trophy based on three rounds of voting. The 2006 winner will announced at the College World Series in Omaha on Friday, June 16, at 10 a.m. (CDT).

This season, Lincoln has emerged as one of the nation's finest pitchers. He has compiled a sparkling 11-1 record with a 1.67 ERA and 141 strikeouts in 113.0 innings of work. Those numbers are even better in C-USA games only as he has assembled a 7-0 record with a 1.28 ERA.

Lincoln's strikeout total already ranks as the fourth-best mark in UH single-season history and is only 16 Ks away from tying the record of 157 set by Brad Sullivan in 2002. His ERA is currently tied for the fifth-best mark in school history.

He was named a C-USA Pitcher of the Week four times during the regular season and was recently honored as the Pro-Line Cap National Pitcher of the Week after tossing a five-hit shutout with nine strikeouts in the series opener at No. 1 Rice on May 12.

However, Lincoln also has been one of the Cougars' leading hitters all season. In 2006, he has compiled a .288 batting average with 11 home runs and a team-leading 50 RBIs. He blasted a three-run walk-off homer in the bottom of the 10th inning to lead the Cougars to an 11-10 win over Texas-San Antonio in the season on opener on Feb. 7.

With his pitching and offensive numbers, Lincoln ranks among the Top Seven C-USA individual leaders in five of the six Triple Crown categories.

Lincoln blasted a home run and earned a pitching win in games at UC Irvine and against C-USA rival Tulane earlier this season. With that, he joined current San Diego Padre pitcher Woody Williams as the only players to hit a home run and collect a win from the mound in the same game twice during their careers.

Lincoln and his Cougar teammates return to action at 12:30 p.m., Wednesday, May 24 during the first round of the 2006 Conference USA Tournament. The Cougars will meet the No. 7 seed in the first round. UH's exact opponent will be decided this weekend with the conclusion of the regular season with Marshall, UCF and UAB as the possibilities.

That game can be heard live on the Internet at with former UH letterwinners Nick Torina and Pat Cauley calling all the action. Fans also can follow live stats by clicking on the Gametracker link at

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award.

Criteria for consideration for the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State University (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The winner's name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg - home of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays and the 1999 NCAA Men's Basketball Final Four - along with several other locations. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce is in its 107th year of existence in 2006. The organization has long been a vital force in the baseball affairs of the city, both in spring training and during the pursuit of a major league baseball franchise for the Tampa Bay-St. Petersburg area and continues its solid role in the 21st Century.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; and Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005.

Pos. Name, School

SP-DH/ATH Brad Lincoln, Houston
1B Andy D'Alessio, Clemson
3B Ronnie Bourquin, Ohio State
SP Eddie Degerman, Rice
OF Luke Gorsett, Nebraska
SS Tom King, Troy
OF Kellen Kulbacki, James Madison
SP Tim Lincecum, Washington
C Michael McKenry, Middle Tennessee
SP Andrew Miller, North Carolina
2B Jim Negrych, Pittsburgh
OF Shane Robinson, Florida State
SP Wes Roemer, Cal State Fullerton
1B Ryan Strieby, Kentucky
DH/ATH Damon Sublett, Wichita State
3B Zach Daeges, Creighton

Related Stories