Kipyego Wins Tech's First Individual Big 12 Title

Oct. 27, 2006

LAWRENCE, Kan. - Red Raider sophomore Sally Kipyego became Texas Tech's first individual champion at the Big 12 Cross Country Championships on Friday, breaking Colorado's seven-year streak. Kipyego led the Red Raider team to its highest finish in school history, as Tech took second place, finishing behind now-10-time Big 12 champion Colorado.

Kipyego clocked a 6k time of 20:00.82 to finish 45 seconds faster than second-place Buff Jennifer Barringer. For the Marakwet, Kenya, native, the race marks her fourth victory in as many races and earns her All-Big 12 honors.

Also finishing in the top 20 were Red Raiders Irene Kimaiyo, Violet Chemakwila and Gladys Kipsang. Kimaiyo took third place with a time of 21:06.04 to edge out Oklahoma's Jessica Eldridge by 2.25 seconds. Chemakwila finished in 11th with a clocking of 21:32.18, while Kipsang took 20th with a run of 22:02.47. Asia Diaz rounded out the top five for scoring for Tech as she finished 29th with a time of 22:22.97.

Colorado captured the title in what was the second-closest finish between first and second place in the history of the Big 12 race. The Buffs finished with a team total of 45 points, while the Red Raiders finished 19 behind with 64. Nebraska took third place with 110 points.

On the men's side, Kevin Chelimo finished in fifth, becoming the second-best individual men's finish in Tech history. The Kabarnat, Kenya, native finished in fourth at the 2005 Big 12 Championships. Chelimo finished with a time of 24:45.40 just ahead of Colorado's Billy Nelson who clocked a 24:45.50. Chelimo's effort led the Tech squad, who finished in 10th place. The finish earned Chelimo all-conference honors.


Others scoring for the Tech team were newcomers Silas Kemboi and Edwin Sang. Kemboi took 45th place with a run of 25:51.10 while Sang finished in 67th after running a time of 26:38.00. Pedro Vargas ran a time of 27:07.20 to finish 80th and John Means placed 86th with a time of 27:29.70 to become the final to scoring runners for Tech.

The Colorado men completed the sweep for the Buffalos by capturing the men's team title, marking the 11th-straight championship for the men's squad. The Buffs finished with 36 points, ahead of Texas with 80. Host Kansas fell short of second by two points, taking third place with a score of 82.

Texas Tech Results:
2. Texas Tech

1. Sally Kipyego 20:00.82 (All-Big 12)
3. Irene Kimaiyo 21:06.04 (All-Big 12)
11. Violet Chemakwila 21:32.18 (All-Big 12)
20. Gladys Kipsang 22:02.47
29. Asia Diaz 22:22.97
80. Jessica Stovall 24:01.19
93. Michelle Edman 25:01.87
95. Michlene Daniels 25:25.50

10. Texas Tech
5. Kevin Chelimo 24:45.40
45. Silas Kemboi 25:51.10
67. Edwin Sang 26:38.00
80. Pedro Vargas 27:07.20
86. John Means 27:29.70
90. Cory Higgins 27:37.90
91. Zachery Quinones 27:39.10
96. Jake Szot 28:15.60
101. Eric Ayala 30:01.70

Cross Country Home

Sally Kipyego took the individual Big 12 title on Friday.
See Also
 Red Raiders Store
Message Boards
 Texas Tech message board
 Cross Country message board